The Forward Look Network
The Forward Look Network
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Chat | eBay | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

bleeding brakes - just want to make sure I haven't missed something
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forward Look Technical Discussions -> Brakes, Wheels and TiresMessage format

jboymechanic
Posted 2015-12-16 8:01 AM (#498152)
Subject: bleeding brakes - just want to make sure I haven't missed something

Expert

I've upgraded the brakes on my 1960 Plymouth Belvedere to 4 wheel disc using a kit from AAJ. The kit uses GM calipers at all four corners (larger ones up front, smaller in rear). I have a master cylinder from a '74 Charger, which has no check/residual valves built into the ports. Brakes are manual on this car. I do have an adjustable Wilwood proportioning valve in the rear line, the only valve in the system, and it is currently wide open for bleeding. I have the system all together, no leaks anywhere, and I cannot seem to get the pedal to firm up after bleeding for just over an hour. I cannot see any air bubbles in the fluid at any corner when I bleed, only a solid stream of clean fluid.

I am no stranger to disc brake conversions or repairing stock systems, but I've never had this trouble before. Am I having a moment and missing something obvious? I do note that the rubber lines to the front calipers do arc up higher than the bleeder, could that be causing my trouble? If it would help I could take pictures of the lines vs. bleeder placement. Thanks for your help.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Polybun
Posted 2015-12-16 8:11 AM (#498153 - in reply to #498152)
Subject: Re: bleeding brakes - just want to make sure I haven't missed something

Temporarily suspended to cool off