The Forward Look Network
The Forward Look Network
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Chat | eBay | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

56 Torqueflite or 57-on Loadflite shift pushbuttons
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forward Look Swap Meet -> Wanted - All Wanted AdsMessage format
 
gradford
Posted 2020-02-18 8:26 PM (#594492)
Subject: 56 Torqueflite or 57-on Loadflite shift pushbuttons


Regular

Posts: 75
252525

Hi, 

I'm looking for a set of pushbuttons for the 1st gen. Torqueflite, or later Loadflite pushbuttons, N, R, 1, 2, and D. I will attach a picture; I only need the buttons, but if avaialble would like to get the plate and the mechanism too. 

Thanks for viewing!

 

Glenn Radford PHD (projects half done)

Victoria, BC

4 x 56 Plymouths: 2 Belvedere 2DHT, 1 Belvedere 4DHT, 1 Savoy 2DSDN. 

1 x 58 Dodge D300

 





(LoadFlite PB Module.jpg)



(LoadFlite-early Torqueflite PBs.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments LoadFlite PB Module.jpg (53KB - 66 downloads)
Attachments LoadFlite-early Torqueflite PBs.jpg (23KB - 67 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
56D500boy
Posted 2020-02-18 9:51 PM (#594496 - in reply to #594492)
Subject: RE: 56 Torqueflite or 57-on Loadflite shift pushbuttons



Expert 5K+

Posts: 6406
50001000100100100100
Location: Lower Mainland BC
.
Glen: Not sure what you are doing but I will say that the Powerflite R, N, D and L buttons work in the early Torqueflite shifter housing. So you could be just looking for a "2" (or a "1" and a "2"). Just a thought.

Mine (56 Dodge, now with 57 Windsor torqueflite):

http://www.forwardlook.net/forums/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=73120&...

Top of the page Bottom of the page
gradford
Posted 2020-02-19 11:21 AM (#594513 - in reply to #594492)
Subject: Re: 56 Torqueflite or 57-on Loadflite shift pushbuttons


Regular

Posts: 75
252525
Hi Dave,

This is exactly what I'm trying to do, so I guess I only need the "2" button as you say....probably almost as difficult as finding the whole set.... I'm planning to install a cast iron Torqueflite in my 56 Plymouth, which is different than the Chrysler/Imperial and LoadFlite, so I'll have to fabricate the face plate for the shifter module.
Did you find that your Dodge seemed to perform better with the extra gear?


Top of the page Bottom of the page
56D500boy
Posted 2020-02-19 11:58 AM (#594516 - in reply to #594513)
Subject: Re: 56 Torqueflite or 57-on Loadflite shift pushbuttons



Expert 5K+

Posts: 6406
50001000100100100100
Location: Lower Mainland BC
.
Glenn: I trust (hope) that you are going to make this conversion without getting it up the *** like I did due to some mistakes that I let happen and/or were forced on me. I like the conversion but for what I paid for it, it was NOT worth it. I could have used that money better on professional painting. Too late now. I have to like the 3 spds (which I do).

Some hints (in case you need them):

1. Start with a good known to work A-466 Torqueflite. The one I got for cheap had to be rebuilt ($$$)

2. Start with a good torque converter (my air cooled Powerflite torque converter should have worked but the nose was a bit rough). I had to source another one and it had to be rebuilt ($$$)

3. Control the construction of the new cross member. I let the transmission shop sub it out and I got $crewed ($$$). There are three options "A","B" and "C".

This was Plan "C". I think Plan B would have worked finer.



REFERENCE: http://www.forwardlook.net/forums/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=70454&...

4. You need a 57-59 Torqueflite shift cable. The Powerflite cable won't work without a bunch of re-working.

5. You need the 57-59 Torqueflite throttle pressure (aka "Kick down" linkage from the throttle bell crank.



6. The speedometer and eBrake cables will be fine.

Here is a link to GaryS's 56 Plymouth Blog site with a photo of the Torqueflite shifter plate that he made:

https://56plymouth.blogspot.com/2014/





Edited by 56D500boy 2020-02-19 12:00 PM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
gradford
Posted 2020-02-19 7:57 PM (#594534 - in reply to #594516)
Subject: Re: 56 Torqueflite or 57-on Loadflite shift pushbuttons


Regular

Posts: 75
252525
Hi Dave

I think I have the TF sourced... I have access to a core, and a buddy who's a retired auto trans specialist, and a dedicated Mopar man. I'll ask him to do the torque converter too.
Will the Powerflite torque converter do the job if rebuilt?

Wow... that is one heck of an offset on that crossmember! I didn't realize such an offset would be necessary - is the TF that much longer? Does the driveshaft need to be shortened?

Gary S has helped me out before, sourcing sill plates from a fellow in eastern USA. Gary even sent me his old set!
He does some nice work... I have similar plans for my shift pod, provided I find the right shift buttons.

Top of the page Bottom of the page
56D500boy
Posted 2020-02-19 9:28 PM (#594539 - in reply to #594534)
Subject: Re: 56 Torqueflite or 57-on Loadflite shift pushbuttons



Expert 5K+

Posts: 6406
50001000100100100100
Location: Lower Mainland BC
.
Glenn: I presume that your transmission guy is the same one that Chris G. says is "The Man". Apparently, he has done 100's of TFs.

I went with the air cooled torque converter option because I was told that it would work, i.e. the PF torque converter from a 56 Dodge would work with an air cooled TF. *IF* I was to do it over again (never going to happen), I might hold out for a liquid-cooled TF and torque converter. The issue with switching torque converters would be whether it would bolt to the flywheel properly. Regardless, the torque converter splines need to be the same count and diameter as the TF that you are installing. My 56 Dodge air-cooled PF torque converter had the same spline count(s) as needed by the 57 Windsor air-cooled A-466 that I used.

I doubt whether you transmission guy can rebuild a torque converter (no offense to him). I am sure that he will tell you that they have to be cut apart (on a lathe), fixed (as needed) and then precision re-welded (on a machine - humans can't do as good a job).

The TF is about 3.5" to 4" longer than the PF trans. This includes the distance to the mounting pad and the need to clear the TF oil pan. The drive shaft has to be $hortened ($$$) appropriately. You could use the "opportunity" to eliminate the ball and trunion front universal in favour of a splined shaft sliding yoke and conventional Cross-type universal. I stayed with ball and trunion with a new housing and very good internal parts and a new rubber boot. The shortening of mine was done at the rear end of the driveshaft.

Not sure what to suggest about the "2" button. Worst case would be making a new one with a 3D printer with a translucent green filament. You would still need to find a chrome sleeve and figure out how to engrave the end with "2". You might want to try John at Big M.

I will PM you with my email address.

Dave F.



Edited by 56D500boy 2020-02-20 2:04 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
geoffs60
Posted 2020-02-19 11:08 PM (#594541 - in reply to #594539)
Subject: Re: 56 Torqueflite or 57-on Loadflite shift pushbuttons


Regular

Posts: 72
2525
Location: christchurch New Zealand
HI Dave,
I once used a PF converter with a TF and noticed this combo gave a little more stall over std, against using the TF converter with the TF trans, have you noticed this with yours ??. Geoff
Top of the page Bottom of the page
56D500boy
Posted 2020-02-20 2:02 AM (#594546 - in reply to #594541)
Subject: Re: 56 Torqueflite or 57-on Loadflite shift pushbuttons



Expert 5K+

Posts: 6406
50001000100100100100
Location: Lower Mainland BC
geoffs60 - 2020-02-19 8:08 PM HI Dave, I once used a PF converter with a TF and noticed this combo gave a little more stall over std, against using the TF converter with the TF trans, have you noticed this with yours ??. Geoff


I was informed of the higher stall of the PF torque converter by Dave H. who installed an aluminum 1962 type torqueflite in his 56 Dodge (if I remember correctly - his website is down). The idea was that the PF torque converter on a TF could NOT be considered a bad thing (more zip off the line).

I can't say that I've noticed. I haven't been driving the car very hard (yet).

I do like the three gears for sure.

Top of the page Bottom of the page
geoffs60
Posted 2020-02-20 3:15 AM (#594547 - in reply to #594546)
Subject: Re: 56 Torqueflite or 57-on Loadflite shift pushbuttons


Regular

Posts: 72
2525
Location: christchurch New Zealand
3 gears on a 2 speed diff ratio works wonders .. Geoff
Top of the page Bottom of the page
geoffs60
Posted 2020-02-20 3:16 AM (#594548 - in reply to #594546)
Subject: Re: 56 Torqueflite or 57-on Loadflite shift pushbuttons


Regular

Posts: 72
2525
Location: christchurch New Zealand
3 gears on a 2 speed diff ratio works wonders .. Geoff
Top of the page Bottom of the page
gradford
Posted 2020-02-28 4:40 AM (#594945 - in reply to #594492)
Subject: Re: 56 Torqueflite or 57-on Loadflite shift pushbuttons


Regular

Posts: 75
252525
Dave,
Well, I guess the TF conversion will be on the back burner until I find the "2" button; 3D print, maybe, but the chrome piece would be difficult, so may as well keep searching for both.
Our TF & general Mopar guru here (Gerry) is "the Man", you are correct! He's also very much an authority on B, RB, and Gen 2 Hemi.

Top of the page Bottom of the page
jerrybev
Posted 2020-04-16 3:01 PM (#596941 - in reply to #594492)
Subject: RE: 56 Torqueflite or 57-on Loadflite shift pushbuttons


Extreme Veteran

Posts: 547
50025
Location: Winston Salem, N.C.
hi
I have it from 56 Plymouth. see picture.
I have shift dabbles for powerflite trans. $12, powerflite shifter, working conditi n $75.
Jerry whitfield
Winston salem, NCarolina
336-749-5922
Top of the page Bottom of the page
jerrybev
Posted 2020-04-16 3:07 PM (#596942 - in reply to #594492)
Subject: RE: 56 Torqueflite or 57-on Loadflite shift pushbuttons


Extreme Veteran

Posts: 547
50025
Location: Winston Salem, N.C.
hi
I have it from 56 Plymouth, shift cables for powerflite trans, powerflite shifter working condition $75. If you still need it let me know and I'll email you pix.
See pix of my 56 wagon members rides section, I posted this week.
Jerry Whitfield
Winston salem, NC
336-749-5922 leave msg
Top of the page Bottom of the page
gradford
Posted 2020-05-27 10:48 PM (#598871 - in reply to #596942)
Subject: RE: 56 Torqueflite or 57-on Loadflite shift pushbuttons


Regular

Posts: 75
252525
Hey Jerry
Sorry I just noticed your post.
I have Powreflite parts already, so I'm OK, but thanks for letting me know.

I'll have a look at the pictures!
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread



(Delete all cookies set by this site)