The Forward Look Network
The Forward Look Network
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Chat | eBay | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Adding a Circuit Breaker at the Voltage Regulator
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forward Look Technical Discussions -> Electrical, Battery and ChargingMessage format
 
56D500boy
Posted 2017-09-05 9:15 PM (#547809)
Subject: Adding a Circuit Breaker at the Voltage Regulator



Expert

Posts: 3681
20001000500100252525
Location: Lower Mainland BC
When I called the guy who rebuilt my generator to tell him that the generator was generating again (after I replaced the Echlin VR that they had adjusted), he asked if I had a circuit breaker at the "BAT" terminal of the voltage regulator. I said, "Gosh, no". He recommended that I install one between the wire and the BAT terminal on the regulator. He described it as being a small metal box with two "posts".

Any ideas what exactly he is talking about (Manufacturer, model)?

Is he talking one of these?



Dave F.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
58coupe
Posted 2017-09-06 9:57 AM (#547830 - in reply to #547809)
Subject: Re: Adding a Circuit Breaker at the Voltage Regulator



Expert

Posts: 1270
10001001002525
Location: Alaska
What you have pictured is correct. They are rated for different amperage so if you install one, make sure it is rated for the output of your gen. probably 35 or 40 amps. Do you need it? I have had in the past a VR malfunction and the breaker points not open when the engine was shut off. Before I caught it, the gen. was fried because power flowing back to it from the battery is trying to motor the gen. but it can't turn against the tight belt.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
ttotired
Posted 2017-09-06 4:42 PM (#547858 - in reply to #547809)
Subject: Re: Adding a Circuit Breaker at the Voltage Regulator



Expert 5K+

Posts: 8262
5000200010001001002525
Location: Perth Australia
I would make up a fusable link and fit it to the main power supplies to everything (except the starter, so not on the battery cable) instead of just protecting the generator.

This is from my dodge when I was building it. Its a major wiring repair and even more major if the car is together and you have to do this.

Very common problem on old cars, especially mopars and it was into the 70s (from memory) before they actually started putting any fusing on the dash and alternator (by then) power supplies





(Dash removal (48)s.JPG)



(Wiring 001s.JPG)



(Wiring 005s.JPG)



(Wiring 12s flink.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments Dash removal (48)s.JPG (129KB - 64 downloads)
Attachments Wiring 001s.JPG (95KB - 67 downloads)
Attachments Wiring 005s.JPG (87KB - 63 downloads)
Attachments Wiring 12s flink.jpg (170KB - 59 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread



(Delete all cookies set by this site)