The Forward Look Network
The Forward Look Network
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Chat | eBay | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Unable to obtain Torqueflite input shaft play
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forward Look Technical Discussions -> Transmission and Rear AxleMessage format
 
Chrome58
Posted 2017-03-05 11:28 AM (#535200)
Subject: Unable to obtain Torqueflite input shaft play



Elite Veteran

Posts: 1159
10001002525
Location: Belgium, 40 miles south of Brussels
Hi everyone,

I've been slowly rebuilding my Torqueflite for the last 2 months, after my rear axle seized up and wrecked my overrunning (sprag) clutch.
In the process, I found out that the unit #2 had been incorrectly rebuilt before, as it was missing the cushion spring and a basic steel plate had been put in its place.

I'm in the final stage now, and I'm trying to have the correct play at the input shaft, before closing up the transmission for good.
The problem is that I cannot obtain the correct play (0.020" to 0.040" according to the FSM).

The play on the input shaft I do have without any thrust fiber washer is 0.050".
As the smallest fiber washer I have is 0.060", you can see where my problem is ...

I checked the bronze washer between unit #2 and unit #3, and it is correctly placed.

What else can I check ?
Is the transmission allowed to be assembled without the fiber washer (but I doubt it) ?




Edited by Chrome58 2017-03-05 11:31 AM




(P1040967.JPG)



(P1040968.JPG)



(P1040969.JPG)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments P1040967.JPG (161KB - 72 downloads)
Attachments P1040968.JPG (167KB - 45 downloads)
Attachments P1040969.JPG (167KB - 49 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
miquelonbrad
Posted 2017-03-05 12:44 PM (#535205 - in reply to #535200)
Subject: Re: Unable to obtain Torqueflite input shaft play



Expert

Posts: 1565
10005002525
Location: Hay Lakes, Alberta, Canada
Wow! Awesome pics of the transmission! Makes me wanna try to rebuild my own...
Top of the page Bottom of the page
ttotired
Posted 2017-03-05 3:15 PM (#535211 - in reply to #535200)
Subject: Re: Unable to obtain Torqueflite input shaft play



Expert 5K+

Posts: 8088
500020001000252525
Location: Perth Australia
I remember when I built mine that I had trouble with the clutches. The new plates didn't have enough different sizes in the kit to get the right clearance
I had to us 1 of the old plates to get it

Top of the page Bottom of the page
grunau
Posted 2017-03-05 4:05 PM (#535212 - in reply to #535205)
Subject: Re: Unable to obtain Torqueflite input shaft play


Extreme Veteran

Posts: 435
10010010010025
Location: North of the 49th
Hi
The cushion spring in unit 2 affects the clutch pack so that has nothing to do with not being able to get the room to install the fibre thrust washer behind the reaction shaft.
I would go back and ensure all the parts are seated where they should be ...I'm just grabbing at straws as I've never had the difficulty you're describing with any of the Cast Irons I've done....
In actuality you should have far more than .050" as the thrust washers that were available ranged in thickness from .059" to .117" as follows: p/n 1823872 .059" to .061" p/n 1638671 .078" to .080" , p/n 1638670 .097" to .099" , p/n 1637669 .115" to .117" . The last one was available for the early transmissions ('56-'57) but for '58 and up the first three were usually sufficient .
Top of the page Bottom of the page
57chizler
Posted 2017-03-05 4:06 PM (#535213 - in reply to #535200)
Subject: RE: Unable to obtain Torqueflite input shaft play



Expert

Posts: 2780
2000500100100252525
Location: NorCal

Are you sure that unit #3 is completely installed into unit #2? Sometimes a misaligned clutch disc will prevent complete engagement of the two and this makes the mated units too long.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Chrome58
Posted 2017-03-11 1:15 PM (#535729 - in reply to #535213)
Subject: RE: Unable to obtain Torqueflite input shaft play



Elite Veteran

Posts: 1159
10001002525
Location: Belgium, 40 miles south of Brussels
Alright, I disassembled and assembled again the 3 units. No change in end play (insufficient).

I tried again, this time without bolting the transmission extension case. Just closing the transmission with only the rear pump case.
This time the end play is correct, but one can see that the additional play comes from the rear shaft (from unit #1) being able to have play.
Which brings me to a possible conclusion : maybe the extension case rear bearing was not correctly placed on the shaft (not deep enough).
So when bolting the extension case, maybe it pushed the rear shaft (and the unit #1) forward and canceled any available play.

If that's the case, how can I insure that the bearing is deep enough on the shaft ?
Won't I always push the shaft (and the unit #1) trying to do so ?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
57chizler
Posted 2017-03-11 6:08 PM (#535743 - in reply to #535729)
Subject: RE: Unable to obtain Torqueflite input shaft play



Expert

Posts: 2780
2000500100100252525
Location: NorCal

Only way I can think of is, with the output shaft removed, slide the bearing on to the output shaft then install the drum and tighten the nut. Measure the number of threads coming through the nut and compare that to the threads when the unit is installed.

Back to my original reply, you might try assembling the units with no clutch discs installed to preclude any clutch stack interference that would tighten the end play.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
bbrasse1
Posted 2017-03-12 7:20 PM (#535810 - in reply to #535200)
Subject: Re: Unable to obtain Torqueflite input shaft play


Extreme Veteran

Posts: 457
1001001001002525
Location: Upstate NY
I'm not an expert like some on this thread however I have built two early 57 torqueflite transmissions. Twice i found everything perfect but could not get the tailshaft housing on because i had already installed the snapring on the tailshaft bearing retainer and fully seated it. Once I removed the snapring i could fully install the tailshaft. All end play was correct. I then installed the tapered snapring on the tailshaft bearing and the transmission has worked flawlessly. I'm sure you experts have a good reason for this but it was my findinding on a transmission that had normal end play before installing the tailshaft snapring in two separate units.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

Search for anything on eBay!

(Delete all cookies set by this site)