The Forward Look Network
The Forward Look Network
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Chat | eBay | Calendars | Albums | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

PCV conversion. 60 383 RB
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forward Look Technical Discussions -> Engine, Exhaust, Fuel and IgnitionMessage format

Cmangeot
Posted 2012-12-13 4:52 PM (#351093)
Subject: PCV conversion. 60 383 RB

Extreme Veteran

All,

After a suggestion from several members, I am pondering converting my draft tube to a PVC system. I am no mechanic. How do I do this?

Could anyone describe the modification necessary?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
DeSotohead
Posted 2012-12-13 6:52 PM (#351108 - in reply to #351093)
Subject: Re: PCV conversion. 60 383 RB

Board Moderator

Sure...
Its not really that hard. You will need a breather cap that has a hose fitting to suppy the air to the engine. This will fit on the front left (driver's side in US) tube on the valve cover, and the other end will be attached to the air cleaner.

You might have to make a tube for that, although you sometimes can buy them from places like Autozone or NAPA that you drill a hole and snap them in. The other side (rear passenger tube) will need a cap that a PCV valve fits into. If you get one for a later 413 engine, it will be sized correctly.

This PCV valve will then have a hose from its outlet back to the base of the carburetor. Look at the rear of your carb, and there in most cases will be a pipe plug you can remove and install a hose fitting sized for the PCV hose you used on the valve. Install this hose fitting with a little pipe dope to make sure it seals well with minimal tighening, attach the hose, and you now have a working PCV system.